Chris Brown is an inveterate explorer who started his adventures by backpacking in South America during the days of the Sendero Luminoso (Shining Path) kidnappings in Peru and definitely pre-Facebook/Instagram, so his poor parents didn’t know where he was or if he’d be coming back.

Recent highlights include visiting the ‘regular’ South Pole with Buzz Aldrin and raising money with a dinner party at Mt Everest Base camp.

Chris at the Ceremonial South Pole

It was at the Base Camp party organised by Neil Laughton that Chris heard about the Seven Summits Challenge where people climb the highest mountains in each of the seven continents. However, having seen the traffic jams on Mount Everest with the chance of losing your life through somebody else’s inability or lack of fitness, he dismissed the idea.

Instead he got to thinking about a concept he’d been introduced to by Patrick Woodhead at White Desert (who lead the first ever East to West traverse of Antarctica,) on the aforementioned South Pole journey.  He’d informed us that there are five south poles:

  • The Geographic South Pole
  • The South Magnetic Pole
  • The Geomagnetic south Pole
  • The Ceremonial south Pole, and
  • The Southern Pole of Inaccessibility

Thinking it would be a cool idea to go to the latter, and after a bit more investigation, that idea spread into a challenge of visiting as many Poles of Inaccessibility as possible, including the newly defined Points of Inaccessibility and defining the concept of The Seven Poles to rival The Seven Summits.

Future plans include going into space with Virgin Galactic and submarining into the Marianas Trench.

In his ‘spare’ time Chris enjoys racing cars, off-piste skiing and triathlon.

Mars would be good!